Click over Logo to Home Page

Introducing Senior Artist VIP

Kenneth Grant - Solo Clarinetist in the Rochester (New York) Philharmonic and Professor at the Eastman School of Music



                Kenneth Grant is Associate Professor of Clarinet at the Eastman School of Music, where he ...has taught since his appointment in 1987.
A Buffalo native, Mr. Grant received his education at the Eastman School of Music, where he earned a Bachelor of Music degree and Performer’s Certificate. His principal teachers have been Donald Mattea, James Pyne, Stanley Hasty, Franklin Cohen, and Theodore Johnson.

                He joined the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra in 1987 as Principal Clarinet after almost fifteen years in the same position with the Columbus Symphony. In 1990, he toured Europe with the Cleveland Orchestra as Assistant Principal Clarinet. In 1994, he won critical acclaim in Japan as soloist with the Eastman Wind Ensemble in the Mozart Clarinet Concerto.

               Mr. Grant has presented several first performances, including the Clarinet Concerto of Sydney Hodkinson (world premiere) and Benjamin Britten’s Concerto Movement for Clarinet and Orchestra (United States premiere), both with the Rochester Philharmonic, and Verne Reynolds’s Sonata for Clarinet and Piano and Fantasy Etudes for Clarinet, Percussion, and Piano.

            Apart from his performing, he was a participant in the Oklahoma Clarinet Symposium (June 1996), the KlarFest at Ohio State University (July 1998), the KlarFest in New Orleans (2001), the International Festival at Round Top (2004, 2005), and the Aria International Summer Academy at Ball State University (2004, 2005).

           Prior to his current position at Eastman, Kenneth Grant was a faculty member at Capital University (1978-87) and Ohio Wesleyan University (1986-87). He also served on the faculty of the Eastman Summer Seminar in Hamamatsu, Japan (1998, 1999, 2000, and 2002

New Information Under development 

Message from Kenneth Grant

Agendas and Performance and Teaching Philosophy




Copyright © 1999 All rights reserved.
Revised: January 13, 2019